Stanford Hall presents a unique collection of historic paintings, rare books, manuscripts, furniture and porcelain with a rich weave of family history and heritage from across six centuries. The Hall was commissioned by Sir Roger Cave, MP for Coventry, the 2nd baronet and was completed by his son, Sir Thomas in 1697. It was built by William Smith of Warwick for £2,147.10 shillings and 7 pence and is William & Mary in design. The Stable Courtyard was added in the next generation, by Sir Thomas Cave, Sir Roger’s grandson, in 1737.
Stanford Hall and Park has a tapestry of historical links with both the Cave Family and Baronetcy and the Braye Peerage. The heritage stories outlined below link collections, displays and narrative to the generations of Cave Baronets and Braye Peers who have had strong links to Stanford’s development over the generations.